1 Nephi, Chapter 10

Nephi begins his own record

We learn that the book of first Nephi prior to this chapter is an abridgment of the book of Lehi and a summary of Lehi’s experiences.  At this point, Nephi starts his record, but he still talks of Lehi’s teachings. This is how we have the important things that were lost with the 116 pages of translation.

The absolute reliability of prophecy

Lehi prophesied of the jews after Jerusalem is destroyed.  He said they would be taken captive, but return to the land of their inheritance (Jerusalem). He said 600 years from “now”, the Savior would come to this world.  He said a prophet would prepare the way for Him (John the Baptist).  he said the prophet would baptize the Savior with water and bear testimony that He was the Lamb of God and Savior of the world.  He said the gospel would be given to the Jews, but they would “dwindle in unbelief” and slay the Messiah.  He said the savior would be resurrected and show himself to the Gentiles.  He said the Gentiles would be scattered and then gathered again because they would be given the fullness of the gospel.

All of these have been fulfilled except the gathering of the Gentiles, which is now being fulfilled by the missionary work of the church.  In D&C 1:37-38 it says the prophecies and promises of the scriptures will be fulfilled and His word will not pass away.  In D&C 82:10 it says, “I, the Lord, am bound when ye do what I say; but when ye do not what I say, ye have no promise.”  Sometimes prophecy is given and it will happen no matter what, because the Lord said it would.  Other times promises are given, which require something on our part to be fulfilled.  I have been promised and eternal family based on my faithfulness to the Lord’s commandments and to my husband.  I cannot have this promise unless I do my part.

What does the title Messiah mean?

Jesus-Portrait

Messiah “denotes the King and Deliverer whose coming the Jews were eagerly expecting.”  The Messiah would save and redeem the world.  In the New Testament they call the Messiah, “the Christ”.  And this is why we call him Jesus the Christ.

Why do we need a Redeemer?

If I fell into a deep pit with no way to get out, my only feelings (after freaking out for a minute or two) would be to pray to Heavenly Father for some kind of help.  Like falling into a pit, verse six says “All mankind were in a lost and in a fallen state”.  Adam’s transgression led to man’s fallen state where we could not return to live with our Father in Heaven, and life was only mortal, not everlasting.  But, there is a way out of this pit.  The Savior made it possible, through the atonement, for us to have that perfect, everlasting life.  Repentance is the key to allowing the atonement to work in our lives.

What is the scattering and gathering of Israel?

The children of Israel were scattered physically and spiritually throughout the Earth.  They separated because of not being able to agree on the true gospel.  That leads to contentions that drive people apart.  When you are in line with others on gospel principals, you want to be with them and share your beliefs.  We can help the gathering by sharing the gospel with those around us.

To listen requires more that hearing.

To listen we must use our ears, eyes, and hearts. In D&C 1:2 it says “For verily the voice of the Lord is unto all men, and there is none to escape; and there is no eye that shall not see, neither ear that shall not hear, neither heart that shall not be penetrated.”  Nephi chose to listen to the spirit.  In order to see, hear, and feel messages from my Father in Heaven, I must keep the commandments to keep the spirit with me at all times.  Then with practice, I can learn how to feel, see, and hear the spiritual promptings that come from God.

What are the mysteries of God?

Mysteries of God are saving principles of the gospel.  If we look as natural men, we cannot understand the mysteries.  They just won’t make sense to us.  But when we seek earnestly, with the help of the spirit, we can understand and they are no longer “mysteries”, but plain and simple truths of the gospel.

1 Response to “1 Nephi, Chapter 10”


  1. 1 a rubow September 23, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    In this chapter, Nephi tell us that Lehi, his father, prophesied, among other things, that the Messiah, the Redeemer of the world, would, in fact, come to earth and sacrifice His life on our behalf. Eventually, all would “come to the knowledge of the true Messiah, their Lord and their Redeemer”[verse 14]. Then Nephi says in verse 17 “And it came to pass after I, Nephi, having heard all the words of my father, concerning the things which he saw in a vision, and also the things which he spake by the power of the Holy Ghost, which power he received by faith on the Son of God—and the Son of God was the Messiah who should come—I, Nephi, was desirous also that I might see, and hear, and know of these things, by the power of the Holy Ghost, which is the gift of God unto all those who diligently seek him, as well in times of old as in the time that he should manifest himself unto the children of men.” Nephi had heard his father testify and then he wanted to Know for himself that the things of which his father had testified were true. In verse 19, Nephi writes the key to gaining a testimony for oneself: “For he that diligently seeketh shall find; and the mysteries of God shall be unfolded unto them, by the power of the Holy Ghost, as well in these times as in times of old, and as well in times of old as in times to come; wherefore, the course of the Lord is one eternal round.” Nephi knew that this was the case because he knew the workings of the Spirit. We know, from our reading in previous chapters, that Nephi did whatever it took so that he could have the Spirit with him continually. Here are some of the things Nephi did to know the mysteries of God.
    1 Nephi 5:20 And it came to pass that thus far I and my father had kept the commandments wherewith the Lord had commanded us. (keep the commandments)
    1 Nephi 5:21 And we had obtained the records which the Lord had commanded us, and searched them and found that they were desirable; yea, even of great worth unto us, insomuch that we could preserve the commandments of the Lord unto our children. (search the scriptures)
    1 Nephi 5:13 [The brass plates contained] “And also the prophecies of the holy prophets, from the beginning, even down to the commencement of the reign of Zedekiah; and also many prophecies which have been spoken by the mouth of Jeremiah.” (follow the Prophet)
    1 Nephi 2:16 And it came to pass that I, Nephi, being exceedingly young, nevertheless being large in stature, and also having great desires to know of the mysteries of God, wherefore, I did cry unto the Lord; and behold he did visit me, and did soften my heart that I did believe all the words which had been spoken by my father; (Pray fervently)
    1 Nephi 5:9 And it came to pass that they did rejoice exceedingly, and did offer sacrifice and burnt offerings unto the Lord; and they gave thanks unto the God of Israel (sacrifice time, talents, and things in order to bless others)(be grateful to Heavenly Father for our many blessings)

    Here are a few scriptures on Seeking the mysteries of God. It is likely that Nephi read these same verses, because of what he describes were included in the brass plates.

    Deut. 4:29 “But if from thence thou shalt seek the Lord thy God, thou shalt find him, if thou seek him with all thy heart and with all thy soul.”

    1 Chr. 28:9 “And thou, Solomon my son, know thou the God of thy father, and serve him with a perfect heart and with a willing mind: for the Lord searcheth all hearts, and understandeth all the imaginations of the thoughts: if thou seek him, he will be found of thee; but if thou forsake him, he will cast thee off for ever.

    Psalms 119:2 “Blessed are they that keep his testimonies, and that seek him with the whole heart.”

    (Here is one from the prophet Jeremiah, who was the prophet in Nephi’s time.)
    Jeremiah 29:12 “Then shall ye call upon me, and ye shall go and pray unto me, and I will hearken unto you.
    Jeremiah 29:13 “And ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart.”

    The title page to the Book of Mormon tells us that one of purposes of the Book of Mormon is “to the convincing of the Jew and Gentile that Jesus is the Christ, the Eternal God, manifesting himself unto all nations”. 1 Nephi Chapter 10 is just one of many places in the Book of Mormon that testify of the Savior and His mission. We are blessed that Nephi was obedient and took the time to write of Lehi’s vision of the Savior, and that by following Nephi’s example, “we can see, and hear, and know of these things, [for ourselves] by the power of the Holy Ghost, which is the gift of God unto all those who diligently seek him…”. I pray that I will be more obedient in seeking to know the will of the Lord. I pray that searching the scriptures will become so desirable to me that I can’t imagine going one single day without immersing myself in them. I pray that I can show gratitude to my Savior each day, by reaching out and doing what I can to help others.


Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


