1 Nephi, Chapter 5

Why did Sariah complain?

I am a mother of two, very young children and I think I have a pretty good idea what a struggle it would be to out in the wilderness raising a family.  Any mother would find it difficult to allow all four of her sons to leave on such a long and difficult journey.  I’m sure she had sleepless nights worrying for their safety.  She had her husband’s testimony to rely on and her faith in his words, but it is natural to begin to feel helpless and perhaps hopeless when feeling that they should have returned.  If it were me, I would have cried when they returned unharmed.  Sariah’s testimony grew strong because of this experience (v. 8 )

How do you respond to criticism?

When I feel criticized unfairly, I usually get on the defensive.  It makes me upset, sometimes to the point of anger, if the person doesn’t understand my explanation.  I think a lot of people respond to criticism with anger or in some other negative way.  It’s hard to accept someone telling you you’ve done something wrong.

Lehi seems to be a man of great character.  His reaction is ‘I know I am that kind of person, but I have faith it will all work out’. Because he was a ‘visionary man’ he had been show a future in the Promise Land with his family.  He knew the Lord would make this possible and would bring their sons back safe to them.  Lehi took his wife’s criticism and used it to explain why they were experiences these things, and in turn “comforted” Sariah.  I think this means that he put her fears to rest by bearing his testimony of the things he had seen.  I should hope that I would have that much faith things my husband says he knows are true.

What are your reasons for believing?

Sariah said “My sons are no more” (v. 2) because she had thought her sons had died or were lost on their journey back to Jerusalem.  After Lehi reminder her of his testimony (v. 5) and then her sons returned (v. 7), her testimony grew strong (v. 8).  She was a witness to her sons’ willingness to obey a commandment and being able to accomplish it.  

I have a testimony that the spirit is a comforter.  As a youth, I had some difficult times as I was dating. At one point, I really liked someone and thought the feelings were mutual, because we were dating exclusively.  He cheated on me and it hurt me really bad.  I was truly sad about it.  I went to the Lord in prayer for comfort to get through my “heart break”.  After sincere prayer, I felt what seemed to be arms around my shoulders and a feeling of peace I had not felt before.  I knew right then that I could and would get through that difficult time.  Hopefully my testimony of this will help someone else experience this comfort also.

Be a scripture detective

Lehi searched the scriptures that his sons had brought back to him (v. 10).  This word is important.  When I read something I look at the words on a page and get something like a simple understanding or entertainment from them.  To search seems like looking through the words on the page for a deeper knowledge.  When we approach the scriptures with a desire to learn valuable things from them, we are searching, not just reading.  

Lehi’s family needed to know their ancestry, the plan of salvation, and prophecies from the ancient prophets, so that they would know how to live and why to live that way.  This is why we need the scriptures also.  Lehi knew these scripture were important, because he was commanded to obtain them from Laban.  When we know the value of these words, we have a stronger desire to search them for all that they can give to us.

How do the plates of brass compare to our Old Testament?

The plates of brass contained more than the old testament (1 Nephi 12:23), but doctrine found in both are valuable to the gentiles (us) of today.  The scriptures are all needed for the fullness of the gospel and as witnesses to the truth of each other.  For example, there are scriptures in the Bible, supported by those in the Book of Mormon and vice versa.

The importance of knowing who you are

A Family Tree

I don’t know much about my ancestors.  I have geneaology work being done by both my parents, so for the time being I have been working to record family history for family that is living.  I love family history and I hope to get more involved in the work of my ancestry.

Lehi learned that he was a descendant of Jacob.  Jacob was saved from famine by his son Joseph, who was sold into Egypt and saved by the power of God.  Jacob’s descendants later were led out of Egypt by the power of God, just as Lehi was led out of Jerusalem by the power of God.  It was God’s plan for Lehi to be with his family in the wilderness and the lives of his ancestors had been preserved for this purpose.

The Lord uses our ancestors to preserve us, meaning the Lord helps our ancestors so that we can live today with the gospel.  The scriptures are for me and were preserved by Moroni and Joseph Smith so that I could have the gospel today.  Without this there would be no way of reaching the highest degree of glory in the celestial kingdom, which is what I am ultimately striving for.  I use the scriptures and their gospel teachings so that I will not come up too short in the end. Because of the scriptures I know the Savior will make up the difference for my imperfections as long as I do my best.

What is the future of the plates of brass?

Lehi said the plates would never perish and they would go forth unto all nations.  The plates were passed down through the generations of Lehi’s descendants (Alma 37:4) to Moroni.  All of the scriptures have been preserved for us.  The Book of Mormon is now translated in so many languages and is being distributed throughout the world.

2 Responses to “1 Nephi, Chapter 5”


  1. 1 a rubow September 15, 2008 at 11:25 am

    I believe that Heavenly Father uses the scriptures to talk to our souls. That is why we are much more in tune with His will, when we are doing a serious study of the scriptures. Certain words and phrases will reach out and touch us as we are reading, studying and pondering the scriptures. They are the words or phrases which we personally need to hear. They can be words of comfort, if we are going through tough times; words of chastisement if we are going a bit astray; words of warning; encouragement; direction; etc. The word or phrase that sticks out and touches my soul will be different from the word or phrase that touches another. It depends on the person. We each are in a different place in our lives and have different needs. Heavenly Father knows us and our needs. When we are seriously trying to seek Him (and being faithful in daily prayer and scripture study is the way to do that), He will be there for us. As I ponder on the words and phrases that have touched me in the previous four chapters: “with all his heart”, “murmur”, and “led by the Spirit”, I have recognized that I need to do better at keeping the commandments “with all my heart”, doing a little less “murmuring” (making excuses, procrastinating, being ungrateful, etc.), and seeking harder to have the Spirit with me, recognize it and follow it.

    As I was reading through this fifth chapter, several themes jumped out at me. One: Knowing that you are being led by the Spirit can bring comfort and, in turn, less murmuring. Two: There is great worth in studying the scriptures. Three: There is great worth in knowing who our ancestors are and we are greatly blessed in knowing their stories. Four: We are greatly blessed because we have the commandments. I’ll give a little more of my thoughts on these four themes below.

    One: It mentions only once in the Book of Mormon that Sariah complained about having to leave her home, friends and family, and her way of life and depart into the wilderness. If I were her, sad to say, I probably would have complained more. She was comforted by the fact that she knew that Lehi was “a visionary man”, who talked to the Lord, and he bore testimony to her that Heavenly Father had indeed commanded their sons to get the plates and so would protect them so that they could accomplish that task. When she saw that her sons were safe, it was further witness to her that Lehi was following Heavenly Father’s will. If we are struggling with the rightness of following a particular commandment, I think it helps to have others bear testimony of how following that commandment has blessed their lives. We are given counsel by the General Authorities of the Church (General Conference is October 4-5, 2008) and we are free to either follow that counsel or disregard it. Heavenly Father tells us over and over again in the scriptures the importance of following the Prophet. When we follow the Prophet, with all our hearts, Heavenly Father will increase our ability to obey and bring “peace” and “comfort” to our souls. I know that when I am being obedient and following their counsel, I am blessed.

    I will follow with some words on my other points later.

  2. 2 a rubow September 16, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    This is following up on my other comment on Chapter 5. I had mentioned 4 things that stood out as important to me in this chapter:
    One: Knowing that you are being led by the Spirit can bring comfort and, in turn, less murmuring. Two: There is great worth in studying the scriptures. Three: There is great worth in knowing who our ancestors are and we are greatly blessed in knowing their stories. Four: We are greatly blessed because we have the commandments. I have already talked a little bit about Number 1. Here are thoughts on the others.

    Two: There is great worth in studying the scriptures. Nephi wrote “And we had obtained the records which the Lord had commanded us, and searched them and found that they were desirable; yea, even of great worth unto us, insomuch that we could preserve the commandments of the Lord unto our children.” The scriptures contain the commandments of Heavenly Father. They show us, by the examples found there, the blessings that come from following the commandments and the sad consequences that can happen when we choose to not obey. Also, as I said before, I believe that Heavenly Father talks to us through the scriptures.

    Three: There is great worth in knowing who our ancestors are and we are greatly blessed in knowing their stories. I have been actively searching out our ancestors and I have felt blessed. So far, I don’t have too many stories, but there are a few. I am so grateful that my ancestors left Germany, England, Canada, and Sweden (maybe a few other countries) and came here to the United States, so that I can live here in this wonderful country. Doing Genealogy has been a special blessing to me, as I have come to know cousins that I would not had I not searched out ancestors.

    Four: We are greatly blessed because we have the commandments. I know that those who keep the commandments are happier. If you are honest and full of integrity, your soul is free. The commandments help us know how to live. Those who keep the commandments are more likely to be protected from evil, mostly because they are not tempted to make wrong choices. We are blessed to have the scriptures, which contain the commandments.

    One last thing on this chapter: In verse 9, it says “And it came to pass that they did rejoice exceedingly, and did offer sacrifice and burnt offerings unto the Lord; and they gave thanks unto the God of Israel.” It is so important to consider our blessings and give thanks to our Heavenly Father continually for those blessings. We can show our gratitude by reaching out and helping others and by sacrificing time, talents, and things we possess to building up the kingdom the God. In other words, we should follow the 13th Article of Faith: “We believe in being honest, true, chaste, benevolent, virtuous, and in doing good to all men; indeed, we may say that we follow the admonition of Paul—We believe all things, we hope all things, we have endured many things, and hope to be able to endure all things. If there is anything virtuous, lovely, or of good report or praiseworthy, we seek after these things.”


Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


